Management Structure

The Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI) is organised in the form of a GmbH (equals “Ltd.”). Shareholders are the Federal Republic of Germany (90%) and the federal states Lower-Saxony (9%) and Saarland (1%).

Representatives from the shareholders are members of the supervisory board – together with experts from universities, clinics, economy, other research institutes and from the HZI itself. The highest governing body of the HZI meets twice a year, it takes the major policy decisions and appoints the two directors. The scientific committee advices the supervisory board. The middle management of the centre is composed of the heads of academic departments, administrative units and staff units.

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board oversees the legality, expedience and economy of the management. It decides on general research goals, the principal research policy and financial affairs of the centre. It consists of a maximum of 15 members.

Members of the Supervisory Board

MinDir'in Bärbel Brumme-Bothe, Federal Ministry of Education and Research

MinDirig Rüdiger Eichel, Ministry for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony

Prof Dr Christopher Baum, Hannover Medical School

Prof Dr Jan Buer, Essen University Hospital

Prof Dr Petra Gastmeier, Charité - Universitätsmedizin

Prof Dr Wolf-Dietrich Hardt, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich

Prof Dr Caroline Kisker, Julius-Maximilian University of Würzburg

Prof Dr Christine Lang, ORGANOBALANCE GmbH

Prof Dr Eva Medina, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research

Christian Mees, Saarland - Staatskanzlei

Prof Dr Manfred Rohde, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research