Research Awards

Jürgen Wehland Award 2023 for young scientists in infection research

The Jürgen Wehland Prize, endowed with 5,000 euros, was last awarded on September 15, 2023. The 2023 winner is Jun.-Prof. Stephanie Pfänder from the Ruhr-University Bochum.

The Jürgen Wehland Award

The Jürgen Wehland Award is given in honour of the former Scientific Director of the HZI, who passed away unexpectedly in 2010 after just one year in office. 2023 marks the ninth time the award has been granted by the HZI and the Friends of the HZI.

Award Winners

  • 2023 Jun Prof Stephanie Pfänder, Ruhr-University Bochum
  • 2020 Dr Kilian Schober, TU München
  • 2018 Dr Katherine Beckham, EMBL European Molecular Biology Laboratory Hamburg
  • 2016 Dr Luciana Berod, TWINCORE Hannover
  • 2015 Dr Sabrina Schreiner, TU München und Helmholtz-Zentrum München
  • 2014 Prof Andreas Müller, Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg
  • 2013 Dr Andrea Ablasser, Bonn University
  • 2012 Dr Stephanie Bertram, Deutsches Primatenzentrum
  • 2011 Dr Eike Steinmann, TWINCORE Hannover
PrintSend per emailShare