Forschungsprojekte (Drittmittel)


Bacterial abiotic cellular stress and survival improvement network

BACSIN is a 16-member consortium with the main focus to improve rational exploitation of the catalytic properties of bacteria for the treatment and prevention of environmental pollution. Current application of bacteria in the environment is hindered by the lack of knowledge on the effects of stresses on cellular activity, most importantly abiotic stresses prevailing on site (e.g., desiccation or nutrient starvation), stresses as a result of pollution itself (e.g., toxicity), and those during strain preparation and formulation.
BACSIN proposes four iterative poles of research and technology to overcome this hindrance for subsequent improved microbial usage. The 1st pole will investigate genome-wide catabolic and stress expression in a set of different pollutant degrading bacteria (the BACSINs ). Key cellular factors and regulatory networks determining the interplay between stress-survival and pollutant catabolism will be unveiled, and faithful predictive models for cell behaviour produced. The 2nd pole will study stress resistance, survival and activity of BACSINs in real polluted environments, via microcosms and in situ traps, plant roots and leaves, while accentuating possible effects on native communities.




UNIL - University of Lausanne (UNIL), Department of Fundamental Microbiology, Lausanne, Switzerland

BIRD - Bio-Iliberis R&D, Armilla (Granada), Spain

CSIC - Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC),
Centro Nacional de Biotecnología (CNB), Madrid, Spain

ETCZ - Aecom, Prague, Czech Republic

UGOT - Götebourg Universitet,
Department of Cell and Molecular Biology, Göteborg, Sweden

HZI - Helmotz-Zentrum für Infektionsfonsforschung GmbH,
Department: Microbial Interactions and Processes, Braunschewig, Germany

KULeuven - Katholieke Universiteit Leuven,
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Heverlee, Belgium

NIOO-KNAW - Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW), Heteren
The Netherlands

SLU - Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences,
Uppsala BioCenter, Department of Microbiology, Uppsala, Sweden

TUBS - Carolo-Wilhelmina Technische Universität zu Braunschweig,
Institute of Microbiology, Braunschweig, Germany

UFZ - Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ,
Department Bioremediation, Leipzig, Germany

VU - Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam,
Department Molecular Cell Physiology, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

WU - Wageningen Universiteit, Laboratory of Microbiology,
Wageningen, The Netherlands

EC-JRC - European Union Represented by the European Commission-
Joint Research Centre, Institute for Environment and Sustainability, Ispra (VA), Italy

Belair - Remy Enga Luye, Belair Biotech SA, Geneva, Switzerland

ECO - Ekoloski inzenjering d.o.o., Kukci Nova Vas, Croatia


Beteiligte Gruppen


Dietmar Pieper


Université de Lausanne (CH)

Geldgeber / Förderer

EU - Europäische Union

DruckenPer Mail versendenTeilen