Research Awards

Jürgen Wehland Prize

Since 2011, the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI) and the "Friends of the HZI" support young scientists with an award in memory of the former Scientific Director of the HZI, Prof. Jürgen Wehland.

The Jürgen Wehland Prize includes prize money of 5,000 Euros and will be awarded on 24 October 2013. The award ceremony will take place during the scientific symposium “NORDI”, which will be held in honour of Wehland (

The call is aimed at young scientists with research focus on infection biology. Their doctorate should not date back longer than five years; parental leave will be taken into account. The applicants should currently work in a German-speaking region, preferably in Northern Germany, or have performed their work in this region.

Personal applications are possible as well as suggestions from a supervisor or superior. Please send your application in one PDF file via email.

Application requirements:
1. Short description of research (1 page)
2. CV
3. list of publications
4. brief assessment of the research by an established scientist (1 page)
5. contact addresses of the candidate and the assessing scientist
6. one to a maximum of three publications that emerged from the work

Please send the documents via email to until 1 August 2013.

Award Winners

2011 Dr. Eike Steinmann, TWINCORE Hannover

2012 Dr. Stephanie Bertram, Deutsches Primatenzentrum

2013 Dr. Andrea Ablasser, Bonn University